July 10, 2006
Tintin and IThis coming week, be sure to watch PBS for the 2004 documentary Tintin and I directed by Anders Østergaard. Previously seen touring film festivals around the world, the documentary makes its North American television premiere on the program P.O.V. and is not to be missed. Combining original audio interview footage from 1971 with Georges Remi (Hergé) and then student Numa Sadoul, the resulting autobiographical look sheds remarkable some insights on the cartoonist and his creation. In addition, a special online feature includes comments from 6 artists (Jessica Abel, Daniel Clowes, Phoebe Gloeckner, Jason Lutes, Seth, Chris Ware) on cartooning , there's a 10-minute audio interview with Anders Østergaard available on the P.O.V. podcast, and there's a Quicktime trailer of the documentary. Check local listings as times will vary across the country.
Comments:
Tintin and I will be showing in Vermont and Southern Quebec on Wednesday, July 12 at 4:00 am and Sunday, July 16 at 4:00 am.
KCTS, Seattle's PBS affiliate, is airing Tintin and I on July 21 at 10:00 p.m. PST (1:00 a.m. EST if, like me, you get KCTS on Bell ExpressVu), and July 24 at 2:00 a.m. PST (5:00 a.m. EST).


> Search
> Site Archives
> Blog Archives
> Upcoming Releases
> RSS Feeds